“Road to Know Where” Receives Ferrari 5000

 
Thanks to Long Zheng at I Started Something I read that I’m in great company when I received my evalutation Ferrari 5000 portable comptuer preloaded with Windows Vista 64 Ultimate. (My review will follow)
A Few Other Ferrari Recipients:
 
Ferrari 5000 Specs
Processor – AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60 (2x512KB L2 cache, 2.0GHz)  
 
Chipset – ATI Radeon Xpress 1150  
 
Memory – 2GB (1GB installed in each of two memory slots)  
  
Storage
  • 160GB SATA hard drive with Acer DASP (Disk Anti-Shock Protection)
  • Modular slot-loaded variable-speed DVD-Super Multi double-layer drive: 
Read – 24X CD-ROM, 24X CD-R, 24X CD-RW, 8X DVD-ROM, 6X DVD-R, 6X DVD+R, 6X DVD-R DL (double-layer), 6X DVD+R DL (double-layer), 6X DVD-RW, 6X DVD+RW, 5X DVD-RAM
 
Write – 24X CD-R,16X CD-RW, 8X DVD-R, 8X DVD+R, 8X DVD+RW, 6X DVD-RW, 5X DVD-RAM, 4X DVD-R DL (double-layer), 4X DVD+R DL (double-layer)
  • 5-in-1 card reader for optional MultiMediaCard™, Secure Digital card, Memory Stick®, Memory Stick PRO™ or xD-Picture Card™
  • Optional external USB 1.44MB diskette drive
Video
 
    • 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050) TFT LCD
    • Up to 16.7 million colors, 16ms response time
    • ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics
    • ATI POWERPLAY 5.0 power management, PCI Express and Microsoft DirectX 9.0 support
    • Acer Video Conference: VVoIP via integrated Acer OrbiCam adjustable 1.3-megapixel CMOS camera with 225° rotation
    • VGA, HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) and S-video TV-out ports
    • Support for simultaneous display on notebook LCD and external monitor   

Audio

    • Integrated microphone and two speakers
    • Microphone-in, line-in and headphones/speakers/line-out with SPDIF support ports
    • Microsoft DirectSound compatibility 

Interface Ports

    • DC-in
    • RJ-11 modem
    • RJ-45 LAN
    • VGA
    • HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface)
    • S-video TV-out
    • Microphone-in
    • Line-in
    • Headphones/speakers/line-out with SPDIF support
    • FireWire (IEEE 1394)
    • FIR (fast infrared)
    • Four USB 2.0
    • Connector for optional ezDock docking station

Card Slots

    • Type II PC Card slot
    • 5-in-1 card reader for optional MultiMediaCard, Secure Digital card, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO or xD-Picture Card  

Communications

    • Acer InviLink 802.11b/g wireless LAN, Acer® SignalUp technology for enhanced antenna efficiency, WI-FI CERTIFIED
    • Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR (enhanced data rate) wireless PAN
    • Bluetooth VoIP phone
    • Gigabit LAN, Wake-on-LAN ready
    • V.92 56Kbps data/fax modem, PTT (postal, telegraph, telephone) certified in select countries
    • Acer Video Conference: VVoIP (voice and video over IP) via Acer OrbiCam integrated 1.3 megapixel CMOS camera

Dimensions & Weight

    • 14.3" (364.0mm) W x 10.7" (271.0mm) D x 1.0" (26.3mm) H
    • 6.6 lb. (3.0kg)
Power
 
    • 90-watt AC adapter
    • Nine-cell lithium ion battery: up to 3.5 hours life depending on configuration and usage; 2.0 hours recharge time with power off, 2.5 hours with power on, 80% charge in 1.0 hour

Security Features

    • User and administrator BIOS passwords
    • Kensington lock slot
    • Acer DASP (Disk Anti-Shock Protection) for hard drive

About blakehandler

BLAKE was a Microsoft MVP and award winning programmer with over 20+ years experience providing complete Windows and networking support for small to medium sized businesses. BLAKE is also Jazz Musician and Instructor for residential clients on the Los Angeles West Side.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Road to Know Where” Receives Ferrari 5000

  1. Joe says:

    You have sold yourself very cheaply. Journalist ethics standards apply to bloggers as well. Your opinions are hereforth devalued.

  2. Blake says:

    Wow — who knew this would become a hot-topic?
     
    Since I’m a recipient of a Ferrari 5000 from Acer, I’m obviously biased towards Microsoft’s motives. I personally began blogging on Microsoft technologies to refrain from sending my clients too many emails – or emails that were not pertinent to them at the time.
     
    I’m not a “journalist” – but even professional IT consultants have “ethics” too. I could not be successful without telling the truth, being fair, doing my own research, verifying my research, and creating original content.
     
    As a Microsoft consultant it’s my job to be familiar with technology BEFORE my client sees it. Or more importantly, BEFORE they have a problem with it!
     
    My TechNet subscription provided me access to the betas of Windows Vista (along with the many incremental upgrades). For almost two years, I’ve participated and provided feedback in Windows Vista forums, webcasts, training and labs.
     
    I’m pleased and humbled that my blog is “popular” beyond the people that I personally support. Microsoft named me MVP for providing technical assistance beyond my normal professional responsibilities. Being provided an evaluation computer from Acer is not a “bribe” and it simply allows me to accelerate my evaluations, documentation and demonstrations of Windows Vista.
     
    There’s no question I’ll write an evaluation of the Acer hardware itself – but I’ll primarily use the new computer for writing articles pertaining to Windows Vista & Office 2007.
     
    I always “donate” my older computers to family and friends – and I’m sure the Acer portable will be no different. But because Acer’s test computer was preloaded with Windows Vista 64 (as opposed to receiving the Microsoft & Acer CDs etc), giving an evaluation computer to an unknown “average” consumer as a prize wouldn’t be wise (and a potential support nightmare for me!)
     

Leave a comment